vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Gone Baby Gone

Leave a comment

No, I’m not talking about the movie, or even better, the book that lead to the movie.

I’m talking about, oh, 60+ photos in 30+ of my blog posts that I just discovered as missing.

OK, well, they’re not missing. I actually somehow permanently deleted them from my WordPress media library last night. I don’t know how this happened. I’m pretty technologically challenged, and I was attempting to “clear out space” from the media library to upload photos from Sun Valley and- yeah- apparently when you delete them from your library, you delete them from your entire blog. Should I have known that or am I just an idiot?

Don’t answer that.

So last night, when I realized this, I uttered a few violent curse words and then almost broke down into tears, imagining having to spend all weekend uploading the pictures again and editing 30+ posts from over the past four months.

And then a little birdie whispered, “vairagya”…..

Vairagya wha?

Vairagya means “non-attachment” in Sanskrit and is one of the core priciples of yoga as defined by the Yoga Sutras. If you are interested in learning more about this, you can just google it and BAM- you’re inundated with all the info you could possibly want.

But basically, this concept is that part of our suffering as human beings lies in our over-attachment to the material world- possession, people, experiences- ya know, “things”.

So deleting months of my blog pictures could cause me to lose my shit, spend a full 24 hours (or maybe more) uploading everything all over again while ripping my hair out.

Or it could be a good lesson in non-attachment. Because in the big picture, who CARES if they can’t see pictures from my May trip to Santa Fe. The point of power is in the present moment- and you’re reading TODAY’s entry, not one from February 20th.

So I’m choosing Option B. I learned my lesson (oh, WordPress, how you challenge me), I won’t be messing around with my media library any further. But I also won’t cry anymore over deleted photos. Because in the grand scheme of this crazy life, it really doesn’t matter.

What does matter, however, is sharing your life (or yoga!) lessons with others in order to create meaningful change. Today I received this card from a patient at my hospital- not one of my own, but one that does come to my Friday yoga classes. And it made me smile. Because the whole point of becoming a yoga teacher was to share the benefits of the practice with those in need of healing. And my mission looks like it’s slowly being accomplished.

photo

This particular patient also added that “it is a practice I began here at ____insert hospital name____ and plan to continue at home for my own healing.” Awwwww…..

So come with me on this lesson of non-attachment- what can you let go of that causes suffering, but doesn’t really matter in the big picture? Go ahead, let go- it’s pretty liberating!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

Leave a Reply

