vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Weekend in Pics

3 Comments

First of all, Happy Father’s Day!

Dad and I on the Cape of Good Hope- South Africa- 2012

Dad and I on the Cape of Good Hope- South Africa- 2012

Today we celebrated our dads. My Dad, in fact, kicks some serious ass. He’s a brilliant horticulturalist who has taught me, from day one of my life, to follow my passion and follow my bliss. If you look up “passion-follower” in the dictionary (does that word even exist?), you’ll see this man:

Dad and I in the early 80s- he hasn't changed a bit- but I (and my teeth and hair color) have!

Dad and I in the early 80s- he hasn’t changed a bit- but I (and my teeth and hair color) have!

My father is passionate about nature, about botany, about vegetable gardening and fruit trees. He has embodied the very essence of the life I would like to cultivate for myself- a life based on what makes me tick. My father has taught me that life is too important to just walk through it without direction or purpose- that we all need to find what feeds our interest, our souls, and go forth and leap into that. And for that I am forever grateful to him.

Of course, my father is halfway across the country in western Massachusetts, and I am here in Denver. So alas, while I would have loved to celebrate with him this weekend, I had to make do with my husband and dog. Le sigh. T’was a difficult weekend…..

Saturday we drove north to Fort Collins and hit up a beautiful 13 mile bike ride along the Poudre River. We do this ride once a year and it’s always a winner.

IMG_0956

IMG_0960

Along with our annual bike ride tradition, we also follow up said ride with a stop at Coopersmith’s Pub. I got the garden salad, which is more than a typical “garden salad” of boring iceberg lettuce and croutons. This bad boy has mixed greens, sprouts, garbanzo beans, red onion, cucumber and carrots. I always ask them to hold the hard boiled eggs- growing up on a farm with my mom’s chickens has made me a complete snob- in fact, I rarely eat eggs- maybe once or twice a year, and only if I’m back home on the farm.

IMG_0963

In other weekend news, my hair was a COMPLETE mess after wearing a bike helmet in hot weather for an hour and a half. I happened to get bored creative on the drive home and decided to give myself a comical mohawk. At first it was just a joke. Then I was like, “wait, this isn’t that funny, I kinda like this.” And then I thought again and reminded myself I’m 33, not 23. Thoughts?

IMG_0966

We wrapped up Saturday with an evening grilling pizza and playing bocce with some friends. Score!

On Sunday, I hit up a Yoga Sculpt class (our teacher Ben had made an entire playlist by the Rolling Stones in honor of his late father- also awesome!) and we did some necessary household chores. We wrapped up the day with (vegan) sushi and another round of bocce with our friend Dave.

Gus loves Bocce

Gus loves Bocce

We also enjoyed a lovely tour of our new next door neighbor’s vegetable garden. It was a good call moving next door to a vegetable gardener. Once a week, I come home to a bag of homegrown greens on my doorstep. And tonight, we reaped the benefits of his labor.

Home grown radishes!

Home grown radishes!

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekends. High five to all the Dads out there- you’re awesome!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

3 thoughts on “Weekend in Pics

  1. wonderful post and images. i like it.

  2. Great post! That bike trail looks dreamy

Leave a Reply

