vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Birthday Fun

Leave a comment

Oh Dear.
It’s been too long again. Over a full two weeks since my last post.

I can’t help it- I’ve just been too darn busy having fun. Well, that’s not entirely true- work has made me a stressed-out hot mess, but when I haven’t been working, I’m just having too much darn fun to take the time to post.

But I’m back and I’m making a commitment to get back on a regular posting schedule. You have my word, Vitadventure, you have my word.

So to catch up on the happenings in my world, last weekend I celebrated my 33 birthday. I feel like I should make some joke about, “Oh, look, I turned 25 again!” but frankly, I am loving my life right now and embracing the 30s. You couldn’t pay me to go back to my 20s. Someone once told me that the 30s were the time when all the insecurities of your 20s are gone and you just ARE who you ARE and it’s fabulous…. and so far, I agree.

Last weekend, my cousin Amanda came to Denver from Cape Cod to visit me for all the birthday festivities. Amanda is like a sister to me, and it was super special that she took time away from her two children and husband to hang out in Colorado for the weekend.

I tried to squeeze in as much “Typical Denver” as I could for her visit. I wanted her to experience what we usually do on weekends, so our days were pretty jam packed.

WE ATE:

I took her to True Food Kitchen, because you all know how much I love that place, and we noshed on some INSANE edamame dumplings.

IMG_0935

We also biked to Watercourse Foods for lunch one day. I figured a trip to Denver wasn’t complete without a visit to this vegetarian/vegan cafe. I got my usual, a frisee and grapefruit salad with herbed seitan, arugula, carrots and red onion- and, as usual, it was divine.

IMG_0927

We also took her to Margs Taco Bistro in Cherry Creek. What I love about Margs is that it’s pretty friendly to all types of eaters. I can order tofu tacos and a huge arugula salad, and my compadres can order their own gluten-free, paleo, omnivorish concotion as well. Add tequila and everyone is happy!

IMG_0912

In other food news, we hosted a birthday BBQ one night.

IMG_0933

We grilled out, played bocce and had a grand old time. I made this vegetarian, gluten-free sweet potato salad, which was a hit and a breeze to make. I also served up Angela’s vegan, gluten free, no bake chocolate torte for dessert.

People, do yourselves a favor. Run, don’t walk, to the grocery store to get the ingredients and make this piece of HEAVEN. It was to die for and frankly, may become a weekly staple in my house.

And when we weren’t eating….
WE MOVED:

We took Amanda up to Evergreen, Colorado, about 40 minutes west of Denver, for one of our favorite hikes called Three Sisters. It’s a lovely series of trails that you can customize to meet whatever hiking desire you have at the time. I think we rolled in a good 3.2 miles, so it was a decent workout with great views.

IMG_0924

IMG_0918

IMG_0921

IMG_0925

IMG_0922

IMG_0920

Of course, the entire weekend made me realize that I am no longer 22. I was completely exhausted after I dropped her off at the airport and any plans we made to go to City Park Jazz that Sunday evening (which is a summer staple for us- more to come on that later) were replaced by this:

IMG_0929

An evening at home on the patio with my husband, Gus and a glass of wine.

It was the perfect weekend to celebrate another year around the sun!

I feel like I have so much other stuff to catch up on, but that’s another post for tomorrow- yup, I’m setting my intention- another post for tomorrow!

Happy Saturday!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

Leave a Reply

