vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Surprise!

Leave a comment

Hello Tuesday.
Well I hope everyone enjoyed their Memorial Day weekend! I know that I did.

Sorry for my cryptic post on Saturday, but I told you’d I’d explain later. Well, it’s later.

On Friday night after work, Tim and I flew to Milwaukee on a secret mission- surprise his father Bill for his 70th Birthday. This surprise had been in the works for months. Bill knew that there was going to be a party for his birthday, but not that his only son and I would be there to celebrate.

We were picked up by my fabulous brother-in-law on Friday night at the airport and stayed at their house. Saturday morning we gathered the troops and drove over to my in laws house. While Bill was expecting his kids and grandkids, he wasn’t expecting us- so when we rang the doorbell, it was a beautiful moment. I did capture it on video, but honestly, I can’t figure out how to upload a video from my Iphone to WordPress, so if any tech-savvy readers can tell me how to do that, great. I guess I could Google it, but whatever.

Anyhoo, it was a whirlwind day of eating, drinking, staying warm by the fire (yeah, it was FREEZING, like most of the Midwest and East Coast this past weekend), reconnecting with relatives and getting brave enough to bundle up, grab some blankets and take the boat out on the lake.

IMG_0875

Tim teaching the nephews how to fish

Tim teaching the nephews how to fish

IMG_0872

IMG_0873

IMG_0884

Overall, despite the gloomy weather (ok, it wasn’t THAT gloomy, but when you live in Denver, anything without sun is considered “gloomy”), it was just a wonderful Saturday to celebrate Bill’s birthday.

I am always struck by how darn LUCKY I am that I have the greatest in laws in the world! Honestly, a girl couldn’t ask for better family. From my mother in law, my step mother in law, father in law, Tim’s sisters, husbands and their kids and all the cousins- they’ve always welcomed me with open arms and a full glass of wine. Really, what more could a girl ask for?

70 Years Young and Livin' The Dream

70 Years Young and Livin’ The Dream

So cheers! Go celebrate your family!

PS- More pics, specifically foodie fun, to come tomorrow!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

Leave a Reply

