vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Suggestion Box Surprise

5 Comments

Oh lordy, I am feeling like a blogger fail. One of my intentions with starting and then continuing this blog was to retain readers. And “they say” (I’m not sure who “they” are though?) that you should post daily, or pretty frequently, if you want to gain and retain readers. Well, blogger fail on my part. It’s been several days. Oops.

So I made it no secret towards the end of my yoga teacher training that I didn’t think I even wanted to teach after the experience. I wanted to get back to my own pratice, pat myself on the back, and say, “well, that was an interesting learning experience,” and call it a day. I thought about eventually teaching yoga at work if and when there was ever an opening in the daily schedule, but I wasn’t going to push it or plan for it. I had taught a few classes at work on Friday afternoons throughout my training just to meet my YTT requirements, but thought nothing of it.

Well, the universe had different plans for me. This morning, like any other Wednesday morning, I had clinical supervision with my program director. We reviewed some of my patient’s cases and the treatment plan for each of them. Then she caught my off guard when she stated:

“So I’ve been meaning to talk to you about something. There’s been 8 different requests in the suggestion box for you to keep teaching yoga on Friday afternoons.”

Whaaattttt??? 8 different people liked my class enough that they wrote down a request and put it in the Progran Director’s suggestion box? This, my friends, felt like a huge accomplishment. I honestly had no idea that my classes were enjoyed or well-received. I had gotten zero feedback, so I just assumed that I was a beginner teacher and no one really thought my classes were that great. And I was ok with that- it’s HARD to teach yoga, especially as a new teacher. You mess up, you forget which leg you’re doing Warrior One on, you can’t articulate how one should feel in Eagle pose- it can be a giant hot mess. At least that is how I felt my classes were.

But clearly, this was another lesson of “don’t believe anything you think.” Because they liked me?! And now, the program is granting their requests and adding a yoga class on Friday afternoons taught by yours truly.

I’m super excited, but a bit nervous. Up until now, I feel like I’ve been able to say “I did my yoga teacher training” and own that. But now I have to say, “I’m a yoga teacher.”

Gulp.

The pressure is on. Shit, I’ve gotta go download some Krishna Das and start planning sequences.

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

5 thoughts on “Suggestion Box Surprise

  1. That’s awesome! PS – I’m still waiting for my free yoga class!

  2. Congratulations!
    I like your description ‘a giant hot mess’. Just taught my first class. It seemed to go fine but I couldn’t believe how hot and sweaty I felt – must’ve been flooded with adrenalin! Took me ages to cool down and it is COLD in Scotland right now.
    PS don’t worry about the daily posting -I rarely follow daily posters as it’s too much to keep up with. I’m sure there must be others like me who prefer people who post once a week or so!

Leave a Reply

