vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Life As You Know It

2 Comments

Wednesday, I have you back again. It’s been too long. Life as I know it has returned.

As I posted on Monday, this is my first week post YTT. I’d like to say I miss YTT, but I don’t. In fact, it feels like I never “left” my normal life. I’m right back in the habit of working like crazy, socializing in the evenings and finding time for MY OWN yoga practice again.

I say “my own” yoga practice again because the one thing that surprised me about YTT was how disconnected I actually felt from my own physical asana practice. The moment I actually had to document my classes, the moment I was “required to attend” classes, the allure of yoga being “my own thing” disappeared. It was another “check” on the list of “have to’s” rather than “want to’s”. It wasn’t something I did for myself anymore, it was homework.

Ugh. Homework.

And so this week marked the return of my yoga practice- for me, not for my program requirements, I returned to my “home studio”, the place where everyone knows my name. I hadn’t been back there in a solid month.

I elected to do my YTT at another studio in town namely for their great reputation and the convenience of the timing. It was, for me, this winter or never. And this particular studio had the only winter training program in the city. And so I parted ways temporarily with my home and favorite studio.

But this week I’m back, and I’m reconnecting with my yoga practice, the practice that I love to do, with the people I love to practice with. What I love about my studio is that it’s filled with “normal people”. It’s not all Lululemom Hard-Bodied Perfect Freaks Of Nature (you know what I’m talking about). It’s also not all Patchouli-scented, dredlocked Peace and Kale yogis (again, you know what I’m talking about). Sure, there are a few of both of these types.

But for the most part, my studio is filled with normal-bodied adults- dentists, stay at home moms, teachers, engineers, realtors and waiters. It is filled with vegetarians, vegans, Paleo-followers, carnivores, omnivores, wine lovers, juice lovers. My studio is, what I call, “people’s yoga.”

And it feels great to be back- physically, emotionally and spiritually. I’m getting back to what I love about yoga. That it’s my practice and I do it for me- not because I have to.

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

2 thoughts on “Life As You Know It

  1. I havne’t found ‘my yoga studio’ yet, which is partly why I do yoga at home so much. When deciding where to do YTT I also didin’t want it to feel like a chore. The ideea of having to be at a studio at 7 am on a Saturday really didn’t sit well with me. At least if i’m out in the jungle it’ll (hopefully) feel more like a retreat. Sometimes I get a bit nervous that it’ll be too kumbaya (as you say), but I guess I’ll just have to try to be open to it if it is.

Leave a Reply

