vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Firsts and Lasts

Leave a comment

Oh hey there. It’s been a few days since my last post- I feel somewhat bad about that, but I’ve just been having too much darn fun!

I had an off weekend from YTT. There was another guest teacher doing workshops all weekend, and frankly, I was yoga-d out, so I opted instead for weekend fun.

Friday the husband and I headed up to Vail for a night away. We got in a nice 4 mile hike on the way up there, and spent the afternoon relaxing by the pool. Yeah, you know you live in Colorado when you’re able to lay out and soak up the super strong sun’s rays when there’s still snow on the ground. It was surreal. 45 degrees, but we were perfectly comfortable in the lush hotel robes. I even got a sunburn.

photo (95)

Chillaxin

Chillaxin

Saturday morning we hit the road early to come back to Denver. After all, it was 75 degrees down in Denver, and we were ready to get back into the city and soak up the spring-like weather. We puttered around the new house and did some more “settling in”- more boxes unpacked, random crap sold on Craiglist, etc. Saturday night we went to a Birthday BBQ for a friend from back in Boston. It was lovely to be back in the company of some East Coasters, who are still experiencing high emotions after the Marathon Bombings. If I didn’t see the mountains from the backyard, I could have sworn we were back East by all the Red Sox hats and accents.

photo (94)

This party was a solid reminder that I’m not 21 anymore, and have no desire to be ever again. I was solidly impressed by the ability of this crew to party, but that’s not my scene anymore. I feel so old. We left at 8:30 and called it a night. #lameoldmarriedcouple.

Sunday I woke up bright and early, did my obligatory run to Whole Foods to stock up for the week, and then the husband and I met some friends and did a nice bike ride downtown on the Cherry Creek Trail. We grabbed some lunch, biked back home and played a round of Bocce. There were more sunburns involved, at least for me.

photo (93)

Now I’m relaxing on the couch and collecting my thoughts about the week ahead.

I start work again tomorrow. My first week back to work since my personal leave. I’ve got a whole lovely mix of emotions going on. It’s like the first day of school, but double the performance anxiety.

It’s also my LAST week of YTT. We have sessions on Monday and Wednesday, and that’s it. Graduation Day in Saturday and then we’ve wrapped it up and I’m a yoga teacher. Crazy.

And so I think- “Now what? Do I keep blogging? This was just going to be a blog about YTT. I’m done on Saturday. Then what the heck do I talk about?”

But in the spirit of yoga, I’ll take it one moment at a time. And right now, I’m just in a moment of Firsts and Lasts.

Have a beautiful week!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

Leave a Reply

