vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Clarity and Crudités

1 Comment

This is a post about friendship.

I don’t know what I did in past lives to deserve the friendships I have in my current life. I am surrounded by amazing women and men on a daily basis who make me laugh, who hold me up when I need it and who inspire me with their own actions in their own lives.

So let’s take a moment to give gratitude for friends. Friends rock.

Ok… Now that I’ve said all that, I can explain where my gushiness is coming from.

So this is what happens when two health-conscious friends make plans for dinner.

20130403-112555.jpg

Last night I met Joy for dinner after taking a Jivamutki yoga class (side note- I had never taken Jivamutki before and I loved it! The best part of YTT is being able to experience many different types of yoga). I was sweaty from class, had fought traffic the entire way to the restaurant and drove around for 15 minutes to find parking. I had lost any remnants of serenity from savasana by the time I hurried into the restaurant.

But the best thing about friendship is sharing laugh so good and so hard that it melts everything else away.

We ordered a vegetable crudité bowl for an appetizer and when this thing came out of the kitchen, we BURST into hysterics. Will you LOOK at this thing? How obnoxiously healthy is it? Vegetables, anyone?

20130403-112131.jpg

20130403-112114.jpg

Let me tell you, when this thing arrived at our table, everyone was looking at us. It’s like ordering a scorpion bowl at a Chinese restaurant (not that I’ve ever done that ;). “Who ORDERED that?” is what people must be thinking.

So we noshed on veggies and kale and tomato pizza, sipped wine and chatted like high school girls. Joy is also in the mental health field, so we talked about work and the rewards and struggles of being a therapist. I got some clarity on some things.

And when we left, I thanked her and said, “That was great, I have so much clarity now….Hey, clarity and crudités. Bam- blog post title for tomorrow!” and we burst into another fit of giggles.

So this is for you, Joy, and all my other kick ass friends (you know who you are!)

Go out and eat some healthy food with your friends. Share a good laugh with them. And thank them for being awesome. Friends make the world go round.

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

One thought on “Clarity and Crudités

  1. so much love!!! this made me cry and laugh…and cry. *HUG*

Leave a Reply

