vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Bliss

2 Comments

I figure after two posts about cadavers, I thought I’d lighten things up a bit. 

I had an absolutely amazing evening- mostly because I enjoyed a lovely dinner out at The Avenue Grill with friends for a birthday celebration. Friends are the best, aren’t they? At least mine are. You know who you are.

Dinner was phenomenal- both in company and service- as well as deliciousness. I got a ridiculous parsley pesto-encrusted grilled Wild Alaskan salmon with sauteed spinach and root vegetables. I laughed at the time that I thought I had to be a vegan to be in YTT, only 8 weeks ago. (Vegans/vegetarians, don’t fret- I still firmly believe in following a plant-based, heavy-on-the-kale diet…. and making eco-friendly, conscious choices about our diets- I just don’t want to confine myself to a dietary label. I eat a lot of plants. And some fats, grains and some seafood. ‘Nuff said ) 

But what really topped my day off was a card I received from one of my patients. 

As a mental health professional, and especially in the field I work in, we deal with a lot of shit. It’s stressful. It’s disheartening. It beats us down. But I believe so strongly that life is meant to be blissful. 

And that is my message- to my patients, to my loved ones, to all of you- and to the yogis I hope to teach- and I’m never actually sure that my patients, my loved ones, and frankly, even my own self- hear this message. I wonder. 

“Are you listening?” I think.

Life is gorgeous. Life is bliss

And that doesn’t mean life isn’t painful at times, and trying. But the benefits of opening your heart to receive all the yummy goodness in this life far outweigh the pain that may be associated with being vulnerable. 

At this point, I can say that I feel that this is my life’s mission- this is what I hope to spread- my belief in bliss.

Bliss.

And the fact that this one particular patient found this one particular card to leave me on her final day in our program made me realize that our daily missions are heard- even when we think they aren’t. 

Image

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

2 thoughts on “Bliss

  1. This made me smile today. Plus I’m happy to see that the Salmon made the blog! 😉

Leave a Reply

