vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Hello Friday

2 Comments

Well a good, happy, warm (at least in Denver! 70+ degrees today) Friday to you!

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I am SOOOO excited for this weekend. And I feel like it’s been a long time since I’ve actually been able to say that- most Fridays as of late, I’m wistfully reminiscing about the Time When Weekends Were Relaxing.

But this weekend, we have an “optional” weekend for YTT. We have a special guest who will be leading some pretty incredible workshops for the next three days. I hemmed and hawed about whether to take this workshop.

The perfectionist, type A, goody-goody in me thought, “Of COURSE you should take this! That’s how you do YTT perfectly! You should go to EVERYTHING they offer!”

The human in me needed latched onto the idea of a fun night out on Friday, sleeping in on Saturday, getting some housework and spring cleaning done, hiking with Tim and Gus, and maybe catching a movie.

The human in me won. The yoga student in me feels guilty. But I’ve decided I can live with that. 

As I said a few days ago, this week marked the “about” halfway mark in YTT- for me, this was also known as “OMGIAMSOSICKOFYOGATEACHERTRAINING” mark. I wonder if the yoga studio knows that I’m not the only one- a few of my fellow trainees have expressed the same exhaustion- and that this point is usually where most of us need a break. Therefore, they always conveniently schedule an “optional weekend” at about the halfway mark- for everyone’s sanity.

I think perhaps my overall “meh” feeling about YTT this week was due to the fact that the topics we covered, while SOOO essential, were not necessarily the most interesting to me. We covered prenatal yoga- fascinating in and of itself, but not my interest or strong suit- and we had another three hour lecture on meditation. Oh, meditation, you kill me. You are not my friend.

So I’ll take a breather this week. I may not even go to a yoga class :::gasp::: But I hope it will give me some time to catch up on a few things I’ve been wanting to blog about.

May your weekend be filled with vitality, adventure and fun!

 

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

2 thoughts on “Hello Friday

  1. I think breaks are vital to your practice. Whether it be in training or just a day off of taking a class or doing your home practice. A break gives you a moment to pause and I always find that it helps me see how much I have grown!!

  2. So true! Wonderfully said. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

