vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Daffodils and Twists

3 Comments

Uh, I forgot about my blog.

Like, literally, this week, I forgot I had a blog.

It was the kind of week when work was completely overwhelming (on a side note, the way insurance companies manage mental illness in our country is beyond infuriating, but that’s another vent for another day)

This week, when I wasn’t fighting insurance companies on behalf of my patients, I was YTT-ing. We wrapped up Week 5 with more lectures on meditation and alignment. While meditation is not my strong suit, I find the alignment piece of YTT fascinating- that alignment is SO important in order to move the flow of energy through our body in the most therapeutic way.

(I also continued to be in awe of all the people in my training who are meditating on a daily basis. Good for them. I, on the other hand, have shit to do. Yogateachertraineefail.)

This week, my husband also was out of town, which meant I was a single mom to Gus- and transporting him daily to doggie daycare in between yoga teacher training, yoga classes, some social obligations and work- and was another reminder of why I don’t have kids. All you parents, and especially moms, have my respect. I can barely manage my dog. I even forgot to pack Gus his lunch yesterday for daycare- how terrible is that? Doggieparentingfail!

So that was my week. And on my way home from work yesterday, I called my mom to bitch about it all. That work can suck at times, and that I’m a YTT and doggie parent fail. But in typical Mom fashion, she did what she always does- reassured me that I was a capable human being and to be kind to myself- and that I was taking on a 50+ hours/week career plus YTT- and then she said “oh, and you started a blog- you are doing a lot!”

I hit my brakes ironically at a stop sign.
Oh, crap, I thought, I have a blog. I have to update that thing.

So where do I pick up?

Well, I will extol the importance of random acts of kindness. Yesterday one of my BFFs and colleauges left this bouquet of daffodils on my windshield.

Friends are the best

Friends are the best

How awesome is she and what did I do to deserve her? Friends like her always seem to know when you need a little something to make you smile at the end of the day.

Also, I will mention that today kicks off Week 6 of YTT. I am UUUBBBBERRR excited about our training today- twists, twists, twists.

The only things I love more than inversions (and we know how much I love inversions) are twists. Twists are one of the reasons I fell in love with yoga 11 years ago- twists make me feel AMAZING and are so therapeutic.

twist Twists help calm the central nervous system and more importantly, help compress and detoxify the internal organs.
And let’s face it, if you are a wine lover like me, you need all the detoxing help you can get. Twists literally wring you out like a sponge. Yummy!

I also find it fitting that we’ll be focusing on twists after my yoga teacher pointed out that we just morphed into a Chinese New Year a few weeks ago. 2013 is the Year of the Water Snake. While it’s hard for me to even type “snake” because I have an Indian Jones-like phobia of those things, it’s important to note that according to the Chinese zodiac, they aren’t menacing.

In fact, snakes go through the grueling process of shedding their skin. They reinvent themselves and transform. And it takes time, patience and sitting with turmoil at times. So we can learn a lot from them. Maybe this year, the Year of the Snake, is time for you to reinvent yourself. What are you wanting or needing to shed? And are you willing to twist and turn and experience the turmoil that is occasionally required to transform?

So that’s where I pick back up- daffodils and twists- visions of spring, yes?. Not a bad way to kick off the weekend.

Despite the fact that Denver is waking up to a spring snowstorm.

Have a lovely weekend!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

3 thoughts on “Daffodils and Twists

  1. Oh man, I went to yoga fri morning, and I’m hurting in places I didn’t know could. It was wondermos though. Also, totally made that vegan chocolate torte, yum all the way, you must come eat some!!! I’ve been missing the blog, it was a nice treat today! Happy snow weekend!

  2. Happy to see your blog today! I’m hoping you can show me some of those ‘twists’, I could certainly use them…ahem.
    Here’s to a positive, fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

