vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Let Love Rule

3 Comments

This morning, when I was stirred from my slumber by my IPhone alarm (conveniently already set to Snow Patrol’s “Called Out in the Dark”- how does Apple do that???) I had two options- I could hit snooze, roll over and snuggle with my hubs and doggie for another hour. This seemed like the better “Valentine’s Day” option. After all, I had the day off. It is an unwritten rule that you must sleep in on your day off.

But I was already up. There was a 6:30 am yoga class that was calling my name. And on the verge of hitting “ignore” on my alarm, I threw back the covers and decided to start Valentines Day by giving myself the gift of my yoga practice.

And boy, am I glad I did. This morning’s class was (expectedly) a heart-centered flow. Back bends and more back bends to open our heart space. And I left with a big heart and renewed desire to bring all that I can to the people in my life.

So on my way home, I stopped at Starbucks and grabbed my husband a Venti Dark Roast. Then I brought my 93 year old-widowed neighbor a bouquet of flowers and some chocolates. (Because if I am ever 93 and widowed, it will mean the world to me if some young’un stops by with chocolate.) He told me how much he misses his wife. And that she loved Valentine’s Day and particularly roses. And this made my heart swell.

I spent the rest of my day journeying to Breckenridge, CO, where my sister-in-law/brother-in law and my niece and nephew are visiting for a ski weekend. My hubs and I went ice skating. I snuggled in front of the fire with my niece. There was take out pizza and a hot tub involved (though not the way you’d expect on Valentine’s Day ;). And it, thus far, has been glorious. Because today (and every day) is about connection and gratitude – and letting love (whatever your version of it is) rule!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

3 thoughts on “Let Love Rule

  1. This made me smile. 🙂

  2. Lisa,
    I don’t know how your heart can get any bigger!
    You are one of the most thoughtful and loving people I know!’
    Thank you for your inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

