vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Zzzzzzzzzzz

5 Comments

Hi Friends.

So I survived the first weekend. Barely. I’d like this to be an inspiring, thought-provoking look at what a first weekend in yoga teacher training looks like.

But I’m tired. 6 hours of sun salutations will do that to you.

Said 6 hours of sun salutations were followed by a fairly hectic and intense shopping experience at Whole Foods, and then, of course, all the Superbowl Excitement.

134054006e8311e2a73f22000a9e28ad_7

It’s never a good sign when your receipt from Whole Paycheck is this long.

Not that I was invested in the outcome of the Superbowl- but I was all too happy to be at the stove prepping some of thisΒ vegan chili for friends, sipping some Cab and trying to distract myself from the throbbing and aching knots in my shoulder blades from what must have been an obscene amount of chaturanga dandasanas in 12 hours.

My intention is to holler back tomorrow with all the juicy details of what a typical first weekend at YTT looks like. Of course, I have an am yoga class followed by an actual full day of “actual” work, followed by another three hours of yoga teacher training…. Seriously, what WAS I thinking?

All I can say is that I am enjoying every glorious minute of it. Because sometimes adventure is overwhelming, painful and exhausting.

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

5 thoughts on “Zzzzzzzzzzz

  1. SIX HOURS of Sun salutations?! Good grief. Is this hardcore Astanga teacher training? πŸ˜‰ I’ve done 6 hours of yoga in a day before… But I reckon I’d collapse after one hour of surya namaskar. Good luck!

    • It’s not Ashtanga, but we are learning the Ashtanga Sun A
      And Sun B series. I should clarify- it was 3 hours on Saturday
      And 3 hours on Sunday (as if that makes it any better?) lol! And we did get one break ;)….. And there was a lot of sitting down while watching instruction of Warrior One… But I’m trying to tell that
      To my triceps and they’re not listening πŸ˜‰

  2. So I’m catching up with your blog. Love it! You are hilarious! So I checked out your Whole Foods receipt (because I’m nosey) and I saw you had Lara bars on there. Love those things! I have recently started making my own. Super easy, super tasty (kids AND hubs love them) and super healthy since I know what I’m putting in there. They take about 15 minutes start to finish. Let me know if you want to give it a go.

    • Awesome! Glad you are enjoying- nothing better than homemade Larabars- so cheap! I love making my own but lately I don’t even have 15 minutes to myself- so store bought for now- either way they’re yum! πŸ˜‰

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

