vitadventure

Vitality, Adventure, Yoga and Fun!

Confessions

7 Comments

As I sit here, ready to embark on this crazy journey in just a few hours, I guess I feel that I need to make several confessions. (I’m still recovering from my Catholic upbringing)

I feel that if I’m going to blog about yoga teacher training, I need to be upfront with people. I am not, and this blog will not be, what you envision a “perfect yogini” to be (although I am doubtful that this person even exists). So if you’re looking for a serious yogi, it’s time to hit “unfollow” and move on. No hard feelings.

Here’s what I can tell you about me. I do not have the perfect, soothing yoga teacher voice. (you know what I’m talking about). I’m loud. I’m obnoxious. I curse. I come from a large Lebanese family consisting of aunts, uncles, cousins, sisters, parents, brothers, etc. And in this family, if you don’t yell or speak loudly,  you don’t get heard.

IPhone 023

Me doing dancer’s pose in South Africa— before a day of wine tasting 😉

I listen to the Black Keys, AWOLnation and Fun- not Krishna  Das. I read Twilight Oprah’s Book Club, not Rumi. I’m not one to turn down any opportunity for Happy Hour. I’ve mixed my beloved coconut water with vodka- just because. I follow a mainly plant-based, vegetarian pescetarian diet. I believe in foods that nourish the body and the soul. But I  believe in pizza, nachos and wine as well.

So I’m not sure if I’m going to fit in among the others in my class. But hey, I also believe yoga is for everyone. And that is the gift of a yoga practice.

OK- I’m off to Day One. I’ll report back as soon as I can walk again 😉

Peace!

Author: vitadventure

30-something psychotherapist, yoga teacher, wife, shelter dog "Mom", yogi, traveler, wine and food lover

7 thoughts on “Confessions

  1. Looking forward to following your journey! Will will be wicked awesome 🙂

  2. (Is a “perfect yogini” like an apple martini?)
    Good luck, my Cuteness! You will be wonderful!

  3. yay!!!! so excited for you! welcome to the blog world, lovely!!!!

  4. You are always terrific.
    This adventure will only add to your “terrificness”.
    There is nothing you can not do and do well!!!

Leave a Reply

